30 Posts of enCOURAGEment Post 24

 

Greetings! Well our daughter is home safe and sound and we couldn’t be happier to see her.  Believe it or not it took her almost three days of travel to get back home.   Now she is trying  to adjust to the 12 hour time change.  IMG_3157

I hope you have had a good week and are anxious to read a message from Bill at Unshakeable Hope.  Bill is one of my favorite bloggers.  His posts are rich with insight.  I think he is an amazing man with an amazing story and family. I encourage you to take time some day and explore his blog.   I pray this post on perspective will help you in your journey with lupus or any other autoimmune disease you have to deal with.

 

Having the Right Perspective

I’ve discovered how essential it is to keep things in perspective in order to maintain hope when you’re in the midst of a trial. The first and most important lesson I learned was focusing on what I have and not on what I’ve lost.

blog family pic

Our family before I was diagnosed with ALS. (Mary still had BIG hair).

Perspective: the capacity to view things in their true relations or relative importance. (Webster’s Dictionary)

I know of many people close to my age, even some close friends, who have died of ALS, Cancer and other diseases or were killed in tragic accidents. These moms and dads have missed being able see their children growing up. They weren’t there to take pictures before prom, to watch with pride as their child graduated from high school and/or college or to witness their son or daughter’s wedding.

I force myself to think about these friends and acquaintances when I begin feeling depressed about my inability to fully participate in this thing we call life. At times like last year when my daughter got married, and I was unable to walk her down the aisle or dance with her at the reception. During difficult times like this, I make a conscious effort to think about some of these people that are no longer with us; people like my friend Rick, who died of Cancer, leaving a wife and two teenage sons. I think about another blogger named Patrick, who died of ALS in December leaving a wife and a teenage son and daughter. Sadly, Rick and Patrick won’t get the opportunity to watch with pride as their children go through graduations, weddings and other landmark events in their lives.

I think about these people every time I’m tempted to complain or get depressed about my situation. I ask myself what they’d say to me if I was to complain about things like not being able to walk my daughter down the aisle at her wedding. Would they tell me that I should be grateful for just getting to be there to watch as she walked down the aisle? Of course, Rick, Patrick and the others have gone on to heaven so I don’t know what they might say to me. But I know they would be right if they were able to tell me to be grateful that I was able to be there for all the events that they’ve missed and will miss. In a sense, I feel that I owe them; that, if for no other reason, I must be grateful for their sake.

james and girls

Our son-in-law and daughters (January, 2012).

I know it’s strange for me to imagine what deceased people might say to me (to give me the proper perspective), but it works for me and, regardless of the trial that you find yourself in, we all must find ways of coping; ways of changing our perspective and attitude – ways of convincing ourselves that our life isn’t so bad after all.

“…I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am.” (Philippians 4:11)

The aim of every Christian should be learning to be content in the good times and in the bad times. But, for those that hope in God, contentment does not mean we stop believing for better days ahead; it just means we’re grateful for today and that we’re going to live it to the full – even if we have to live today in a wheelchair!

Wedding

“For in hope we have been saved, but hope that is seen is not hope; for who hopes for what he already sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, with perseverance we wait eagerly for it.” (Romans 8:24-25)

Taken directly from Unshakeable Hope with permission.

Thank you Bill for letting me share part of your story here.  To read more about Bill’s life story click here.

I welcome your comments.  Until next time….Leslie Rose K

If you do not want to miss a post please click here to Subscribe by Email

Romans 12:12  Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.
2 responses to this post.

  1. I agree with Bill, we have to take joy in the small things. Not looking at what we can’t do, but what we have instead. Looking for the good in all things is what gets some us through the day. I know that I have so many things to be thankful for even with having Lupus. I know that there’re are many out there that don’t have the quality of life that I have, so for me to complain is just not good. I know we all have complaints but I think we need to always give thanks to God for what we do have, which in my case is a lot!! Thanks for a anther great post Leslie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Vincent Egoro

Personal development, Relationships, Motivation through Christ

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

Where writing is a performance art and every post is a show.

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Changes Everything...

Morning Story and Dilbert

best read with a cup of coffee or tea and an occasional kleenex

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Juju's Lupus

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

healthyforhim

healthy living for God

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

Ivory Spring

Come on in and stay a while - and let me know what you think!

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

My CFS Life

Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and my hidden life.

Uncharted: A Mission Diary

Loving my way around the world and back home again...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

