30 Posts of enCOURAGEment Post 25

A few weeks ago, in post 19, I wrote about my duck tape encrusted light switch cover, and change.  I do not know if you are in the process of working on a life change, but I do know that the ordinary challenges of each day with autoimmune disease can make it seem impossible to add anything else to the mix.auto-immune  When you have to live everyday with  lupus, CFS, sjogren’s, etc, life changes will often need good doses of, not only courage, but encouragement.   A faithful encourager, walking beside you, is invaluable.

Several years ago I got up the nerve to invite a couple that we did not know over for  dinner .  They sat across from us in church, and I felt drawn to them for several weeks.  During church I asked them if they wanted to come over that day for Easter dinner.  It was a crazy thing to do.  I was sure they would think I was a nut, like my daughter did, easter_mealbut after church they said yes. That was the beginning of our friendship.

As time went on, I taught my new friend some quilting.  Later, I stepped out of my comfort zone, and asked her to be a prayer support for me during a challenging time of writing this blog.  A couple of years ago, we made a decision to try to get together as couples once a month.  In the meantime my friend made a life choice to lose weight.  She had great success.

While I was happy for her and my other close friends in church that had recently lost weight, I did not think I could do it.  I had tried several times with little success.  After months of consideration, I saw Chris Powell on Dr Oz.  His plan clicked with me, and I decided to give it a try.9781401324452

Let me tell you, I do not know what I did to deserve it, but my friend became my biggest encourager.  Every week she sees me, she is quick to ask how I have done, and tell me how good I look.  On weeks when I have struggled, she has boosted my morale.   She is quick to share her tips and her struggles.

We went to their house the other week anticipating another great time of fellowship.  Shortly after arriving, she looked at me with such sincerity and told me how great I looked.  She amazed me with her consistent encouragement.  Little did she know, I was not feeling particularly good about myself that night.

I know you live in the same world I do, and you probably know how rare this soul is, and how blessed I am that I have been given such a gift to help me with this challenge.

As for my friend, perhaps she is standing with me because the battle is still fresh in her mind as she struggles to lose the last few pounds herself, Girls friendshipbut I do not think so.  I think she has made a choice to make a difference in my life, knowing the day-to-day struggles, not just of losing weight, but of living with chronic illness.

As for me, I am truly thankful for this encourager God has planted in my life.

Are you an encourager?  Perhaps it is time to step out of your comfort zone, and ask for encouragement for yourself as you deal with the daily challenges of illness, or with a  life change you are making.  Or maybe you know someone who could use an encourager,  and could be as invaluable to them as my friend is to me.

Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work:  If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up! Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

I welcome your comments.  Until next time….Leslie Rose K

If you do not want to miss a post please click here to Subscribe by Email

Romans 12:12  Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.

4 responses to this post.

  1. We do all have our struggles in life especially with health problems involved. We all need a good friend to encourage us too and I’m so glad that you have that special friend to encourage you on this journey. Of course it is easy to encourage a friend too and you are a good friend to people! Hugs!

    Reply

  2. Good post, Leslie.
    “Are you an encourager? Perhaps it is time to step out of your comfort zone, and ask for encouragement for yourself as you deal with the daily challenges of illness…”
    So true – it does take a conscious effort to encourage others, it’s outside of our comfort zone. But we ourselves are encouraged when we encourage others – I suspect you learned this quite some time ago.
    Leslie, please pray for our friend Ann; before being diagnosed with cancer, she was already battling Lupus.

    Reply

    • Yes, I will pray for Ann. Lupus is enough of a challenge without adding additional health issues like cancer. Yes, we are encouraged when we encourage others. Thanks for stopping by. Blessings.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Vincent Egoro

Personal development, Relationships, Motivation through Christ

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

Where writing is a performance art and every post is a show.

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Changes Everything...

Morning Story and Dilbert

best read with a cup of coffee or tea and an occasional kleenex

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Juju's Lupus

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

healthyforhim

healthy living for God

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

Ivory Spring

Come on in and stay a while - and let me know what you think!

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

My CFS Life

Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and my hidden life.

Uncharted: A Mission Diary

Loving my way around the world and back home again...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

