Black Friday Frenzy and Beyond

We have all heard the complaints, the nightmares, and the tragedies yet many people  still take part in the ritual of Black Friday. I imagine the occasional conquest is what keeps shoppers going back year after year. The frenzy is increasing  annually as stores frantically compete for our dollars and their survival in hard economic times.

Black Friday also marks the official start of four weeks of frenzy for most women where everything from shopping, decorating, wrapping, cooking, baking, card writing, entertaining and more take center stage. Stress levels can reach all time highs for the year and the joy of the season felt in little bursts if at all.

For people with chronic illness Black Friday can be a dark day as we consider the weeks ahead in light of our limitations. Everyday becomes valuable and any inability to accomplish goals can easily lead to discouragement and sometimes depression. If we hosted Thanksgiving we may lose a few days or a week recovering from that.  Even if we start early preparing for the holiday there are still so many things we usually commit ourselves to it is easy to fall out of step.

I have heard it said we are human beings not human doings. You would not know it by the pace most people keep. I am still learning to pace myself after eight years of dealing with lupus. I have given myself many a lupus headache because I did not pace myself, ask for help or let people help me. On the bright side, it does get  easier to pace myself with each passing year.

Whatever the case, dealing with illness or not,  here is the challenge for this holiday season. Let’s ease up on  the expectations we have for ourselves and try to make peace with our limitations whatever they may be. Let’s refuse  to enter into the frenzy of the season. And, do a little something just for you each day. It will make a big difference in your outlook. It does for me.

Look at the sidebar for some of my strategies for coping with the season. I hope you will post some of yours for others to read.

Leslie Rose K

Mission Statement: To help people reclaim their lives-body, soul, and spirit-after a diagnosis of lupus/chronic illness.

email: leslie@dominateyourdiagnosis.com

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brenda on December 1, 2010 at 8:19 AM

    I am not a Black Friday shopper! LOL But I too am learning to pace myself with this desease. I had to morn who I used to be and accept who I am now. I have had to learn to say no to people when I really didn’t want to but knew I wasn’t up for the challenge of what they needed from me. It is hard to limit yourself when you were used to doing it all. But in order to get through without melt downs, feeling really bad and just surviving you must learn to pace yourself with this or any other desease. This was a great post Leslie and a good reminder for us all!! Brenda

    Reply

  2. Posted by Emma on December 1, 2010 at 9:29 AM

    Thanks again Leslie for another awesome post. I really needed this reminder for the strength to back out of some of the things that may “push me over the edge” this year. Too much going, more than usual. This came at a great time for me. Emma.

    Reply

    • I am glad to hear it helped, Emma. I am writing to myself too! It is so easy to become over committed or make poor choices even just for a day. I pray God help you through this holiday season and give you the wisdom and strength you need.

      Reply

  3. Great Post Leslie,
    We used to go out every Black Friday and make the rounds. This year we went out for one thing which we had stay up all night to get there at 3 A.M.. We now realize that living with a chronic illness this is no longer a favorite thing for us. Unfortunately, the bad economic times forces us to ignore the warnings from our bodies because we need to purchase something we cannot otherwise afford. I found out this year the savings were not worth it as the recovery time cost us more that the monetary savings. Heed your body’s warnings. Don’t over exert yourself. Remember your limitations and you will still enjoy these days by pacing yourself. Have a great holiday season.

    Lou

    Reply

  4. Terrific post! It seems that you and I are of similar mind about these things. I particularly like your sidebar tools. How very helpful to have small bites of wisdom handy – and for fog-brains like me, especially helpful.

    Thank you for this.

    Peace.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

