Why not us too?

I received an interesting email after my last post. The correspondent recently renovated a home she was moving in to.  She said she can vouch first hand, that even with the “professionals”  things are more involved, and take longer than  expected.  There  are things that crop up or things they did not see initially, thus extending the completion date, sometimes again and again.

Even after my email friend moved into her home, there was still work to be done. For days, workmen were in and out of her home. She had to clean and re-clean. I am sure she wondered when the “last day” would be.  It is not just the significant others, that go  beyond the extra mile for family and home, that have this struggle.

When my husband started telling me this a few years ago I began to notice it in my own projects.  Occasionally, I just literally plow through because I do not have the time for it to take longer.  When I plow my way through sometimes unnecessary things go wrong or I physically put myself in discomfort.  Sometimes I put myself out of commission altogether.

I am sure many can identify with this, whether they have physical limitations or not.  It is difficult to show restraint  especially when time is limited.  Those with physical limitations are especially prone to get discouraged, depressed, and even beat themselves up.  We tend to think everyone else is accomplishing the task much more efficiently than we are.

But, if the professional finds things more involved than originally expected thus taking longer than anticipated and our significant others encounter the same thing, why oh why shouldn’t it happen to us?

Praying you have a wonderful Christmas.   Blessings,  Leslie Rose K

Mission statement:To help people reclaim their lives-body,soul, and spirit-after a diagnosis of lupus/chronic illness.

email: leslie@dominateyourdiagnosis.com

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kathy on December 16, 2010 at 8:40 PM

    Good post, Leslie. I experienced the same problem when we were remodeling. Even though we weren’t doing the work per se I was always here. It got so tiring dealing with strangers in my house that I actually fell asleep the one morning and the worker had to wake me up to ask me a question. That was embarrassing!! You want things to be done as soon as possible so you do more that what you are really capable of just to keep the ball rolling.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tracy on December 16, 2010 at 10:09 PM

    Leslie, I think this is a great message for all of us during the busy holiday season. Some days I can’t manage to do normal daily things for my family, and need to rely (sometimes heavily) on my mother and others who so generously provide help. We are not even doing a tree this year. We’re only doing minimal gift giving. Instead, we’re concentrating on each other, the true meeaning of the day and the joy of being with family and friends just for being there. Right now, it just costs me too much to get involved in the rest of it, and every year I make myself sick trying the “get ready” for xmas…I have real trouble pacing myself. This is a decision we made as a family and hopefully “mom” will be out of bed this Christmas day. Peace.
    Tracy

    Reply

  3. I think this is one of the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The web site style is ideal, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

