Looking Back to 2010

The hustle and bustle of the holidays can propel us from one year into the next with many people catching their breath just long enough to make their annual resolution. Few of us, I daresay, take time to reflect upon the past year or goals for the future.

The resolution tends to focus our attention on the negative-the things that we have to change. While I certainly have things to change, I do not like that being my main focus. Personally, I like to take out my pocket calendar and reminisce about the year past-big and small events, mundane and extraordinary.

  • many doctor appointments, hair appointments etc.
  • outings with friends; quilt and support group meetings
  • community service; teaching a friend to quilt
  • visiting colleges and family vacations
  • high school graduation
  • launching a blog and applying for a unique job

Then there were the things to remember that were not on the calendar.

  • family and provision for daily life
  • good medical care
  • God and church
  • many answers to prayer

There are the ways I have grown.

  • in compassion and understanding
  • my husband says I am mellowing, making his life a little easier (!)
  • in training my daughter for the future

There are things I cannot fully perceive.

  • how I have affected others
  • how life has changed me
  • how the changes will impact my future

There certainly were disappointments and bad things that happened. It is ridiculously easy to focus on the negative, expect the negative and live a defeated life. It doesn’t require much effort at all. Robert Schueller writes in his book Tough Times Never Last but Tough People Do, “Once an organism, a business, a life, or a country is infected with negative thinking, the infection attacks the mind, the heart, and the soul like termites that secretly gnaw away at the emotional support system.”

Why not resurrect your 2010 calendar and go month by month with pen and paper and write down all the good memories, the blessings and all the answers to prayer and then expect 2011 to be filled with more of the same?

Many Blessings for 2011   Leslie Rose K

Encouraging body, soul, and spirit

email: leslie@dominateyourdiagnosis.com

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brenda on January 4, 2011 at 9:06 PM

    It is so easy to focus on the not so good in a year, but it makes the good times so much sweeter! I think that no matter what year it is we all will have some bad times from time to time, but it is how we handle and dwell on them that is going to make the difference. We need to learn and grow and look forward to the good times from the bad times. I know for me the bad times sure make me appreciate the good times and I know that the good times out weight the bad times!!! Have a blessed New Year Everyone! Brenda

    Reply

    • Thanks for your input Brenda. You are right, the bad times make the good times sweeter. The first half of 2010 was emotionally rough for me. Right now, I cannot linger on the bad or negative too long. I do take comfort in the fact that none of our experiences whether good or bad are wasted. They all help us grow and develop, hopefully into better, more caring people.

      Reply

  2. You bring such a wonderful perspective to the idea of resolutions. Reading it here, I can’t help but wonder how it is that I never looked at it that way before – realizing it’s always about negative things to be changed.

    I really like the list you’ve made and been so generous as to share. We (especially those of us with chronic illnesses) tend to think we accomplish little or nothing, but when written down, it’s a different story (and add to that our perseverance in living as well as we can.)

    Thank you!

    Peace.

    Reply

    • I was just thinking about you. You have not posted recently. I hope you are “well”. Thanks for responding to the blog and for your encouragement. I pray it will be a richly blessed 2011 for you and each reader. Our perspective colors everything doesn’t it? Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

