Don’t take my word for it!

This past weekend while I was putting away all the Christmas decorations I got the idea to give my faithful, over loaded bookshelf a rest. It has three one foot shelves. It was piled high with cookbooks of every kind. Tall ones, fat ones, soup and appetizer, Chinese and Italian, James Beards, America’s Test Kitchen and many many more.

I love the feel of a book in my hand. When I have an interest, I want books to educate me and show me photos. I want to get out several books and get different opinions. If I am making a new recipe I often get out several cookbooks to see how they differ. Even when I go online looking for recipes, I like to read the reviews and see what others liked or did not like about the recipe. I am interested in what they may have done differently from the original recipe.

It was the same when I was diagnosed with lupus. I found the best educational book written for a patient and purchased it. I went to other reputable sources for information. I did not take the first thing someone said and run with it.

It can be dangerous when we just take one person’s word for it. Sometimes they are wrong. Now if you are baking a cake and are misinformed by a bad recipe, it is not the end of the world. If you are going by someone telling you the life expectancy for a person with lupus is ten years after diagnosis, there is a problem.

That is what I ran across on the internet this past weekend and it upset me. I thought of people new to lupus stumbling upon information like this and being sent into a tailspin. That is why we need to be proactive on our own account. When I meet new people through our support group I always try to encourage them to start with Dr. Wallace’s The Lupus Book. It doesn’t stop there though. Like me with my cookbooks, it is always good to have more than one resource. Compare them and attempt to determine the consensus between them. And, of course, discuss these things with your doctor.

As you might have guessed, I went on-line to confirm what I knew about the life expectancy of people with lupus. The Lupus Foundation of America, The John Hopkins Arthritis Center and UK Lupus all said the same thing. “Due to improved diagnosis and disease management most people with the disease will go on to live a normal life span. It is believed between 10-15 percent of people with lupus will die prematurely due to complications of lupus.” (Lupus Foundation of America)

Thank God, we have the resources available to get answers to our questions. Now don’t take my word for it, go do some digging for yourself. As for my cookbooks, they were not packed away with the Christmas decorations. For now, they take center stage on the shelf of my hutch where I can reach them with ease.

More next time…Leslie Rose K

Encouraging body, soul and spirit.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brenda on January 12, 2011 at 12:57 PM

    Great post Leslie! I feel to that we shouldn’t take the first thing we find out about something for face value. It should always be researched and many other resources checked out. We should never take one persons word on our health or any other things that are important to us. Always, always dig deeper! This is a great post for all to see, thanks for posting Leslie!! Brenda

    Reply

  2. […] worth what you paid for it. (My godmother used to say this about cookbooks. If you remember from a past post, I have no shortage of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

