Dominating the Doldrums

Have you been experiencing mild but manageable sluggishness? Food cravings? Difficulty waking up or getting out of bed? A 5 to 6 pound weight gain?

Or have you been sad, anxious, withdrawn socially, over-sleeping and had excessive weight gain?

If you answered yes to the first list you are most likely suffering with a simple case of the winter doldrums. If you answered yes to the second list you could have SAD or Seasonal Affective Disorder. Combine either one of these with chronic illness and you may be struggling your way through winter yearning for it to end.

When it is very cold, I am extremely fatigued. I try to take it easy but it is easy to get depressed about all the taking it easy I have to do in order to function. I feel as though I am dragging myself around. I keep telling my husband I am so tired to no avail. He cannot help me. I have had to come up with simple things to get me through this and bring some enjoyment to my fatigue filled days.

Here is a partial list of strategies I have used this year to keep myself from slipping into a deep funk:

  • Early on this winter, when I was fighting some depression, I spent calculated time considering my blessings and then adding to the list each subsequent day. It did wonders for my morale. I  frequently find myself  reminiscing over them and adding to the list.
  • I have made cards for others to send and have been sending cards of encouragement to those in need.
  • I have had friends over to eat.
  • I have been reading some good books.
  • I have been planning new projects to work on and have started work on some of them. (Even though I should be working on some of the old ones instead.)

Perhaps you have a family member struggling with the doldrums and lupus or chronic illness. You can incorporate some of these simple ideas in your home. Reaching out to others often gets our minds off ourselves. Making cards together is easy enough. There are so many ideas on-line. Target some people in need and encourage them with the cards you made. How about Valentine cards for family and friends?

Following are links to some interesting articles I found  pertaining to both conditions. I hope you find them helpful.

If you think you have SAD the best place to get support is from your doctor. If it is the winter doldrums you are struggling with try to be proactive on your own behalf. Don’t over do it and stress yourself out.  You just want to bring some enjoyment into you daily routine and lift your own spirits.  It should become a little easier with each endeavor you make. And just think, spring is only weeks away.

Be blessed. Leslie Rose K

Encouraging body, soul and spirit.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brenda on February 7, 2011 at 11:07 PM

    What a great thing to post about Leslie! We don’t often think of why we might be feeling the way we do, so this post was extremely helpful for me. I have been so tired of the winter and looking forward to spring. I have found that if I go and work on some crafty things, I do feel better, or just read that takes me away to the place in the book-that gets me “away” for a while so that when I “return” I am feeling pretty good. Thanks for a great post and opening my eyes to this. Sometimes I get in such a funk that I don’t even want to get dress or go to the grocery store. So this post seems like it was written for me. LOL

    Reply

    • I am glad this post spoke to you Brenda. It makes it a little easier when we know what is going on and we are not the only ones going through it, doesn’t it? When my daughter was growing up I would buy these great informative books- Your one year old, Your two year old etc etc. They really helped me because they described normal behavior at each age. Needless to say I always found out she was normal for her age. It is the same with us and lupus. Thanks for your comments. Have a blessed week.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Therese on February 12, 2011 at 11:40 PM

    It is so encouraging to read your comments and also to learn about the various emotions that are experienced during the winter months.

    I know what you mean about feeling more tired in the cold weather. I have enjoyed being indoors and actually welcomed the snow days, since I didn’t have to go outside, ride in my cold car, and worry about ice/snow covered roads. It was a relief to hear the school cancellations.

    Last winter was the first time I noticed myself feeling sluggish and not wanting to go anywhere. Since I’m more aware of this kind of situation, I prepared myself so that it would not be as severe this winter. You are so right about doing things for others. Also, doing the things that you enjoy doing is so important. It gives you something to look forward to and lightens your spirits. I have enjoyed writing, watching movies, and now I’m beginning to walk outside daily with my dog, even in the cold weather! I dress very warmly and actually have to unzip my coat a little because I get so warm walking briskly. I’ve also enjoyed my hot tea even more when I come in from outside.

    Last winter I did have the weight gain, but not this year. So far, so good. For the remainder of the winter, I plan to keep in touch with loved ones, continue with my writing, and continue counting my blessings as well. I do have so much to be thankful for.

    I enjoy the postings. They are such wonderful “food for thought.”

    Reply

  3. *I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

    Reply

  4. let me just tell you that i really like your blog because it is so original .”~,..

    Reply

  5. i read a lot of blogs specially interesting ones like your blog. -.`”..

    Reply

  6. i always enjoy to do blog hopping and i stumbled upon your blog ~:`,*”

    Reply

  7. i enjoy reading your choosen topic for this month ‘,'””-

    Reply

  8. this topic is very well researched and i admire the author for discussing it thoroughly “~,`~

    Reply

  9. let me just say that i love the way you write and post articles on your blog ,”;`”:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

