The King’s Speech and YOU Part 2

I belong to a wonderful quilt group of thirty women. I grow more fond of them with each passing year. Quilters are often extremely generous people, sharing their resources, knowledge and talents freely. They  also  share tips on extraordinary stores and teachers. Occasionally we hear about the “teacher you never want to take a class from”.

The teachers to avoid are usually out of touch with their students, unprepared, have unrealistic expectations of their students, tend to give poor instruction and do not interact well with the students.

When I pay a lot for a class, I would like a teacher that will be able to teach me the skill effectively. Teaching a new skill to someone takes a tremendous amount of preparation. The teacher has to foresee all sorts of problems the student may encounter and have the answers. A good teacher provides samples of the technique being taught. Of course, a teacher needs a certain amount of skill to be able to clearly and effectively impart the information to the students. And, it helps if they are personable too.

In his search for a teacher to help him with his speech impediment, Prince Albert, also came across the teachers you never want to have. Even when he did find a good teacher it wasn’t smooth sailing for the reasons mentioned in the previous blog The King’s Speech and YOU.

Over time, Prince Albert realized he had a treasure in his teacher, Lionel Logue. He was dedicated, faithful, and fearless where it concerned the Prince. Though his techniques were unconventional they were effective. Their relationship even deepened into a life long friendship.

Prince Albert was blessed to have such a dedicated teacher who would not give up on him. Sometimes when I am at my sickest I am not the most pleasant person to help either. I am short-tempered and in my own world of pain and discomfort.

The unpredictability of lupus can wear us down overtime. When you suffer daily, can’t get proper rest, when even the doctors do not understand your symptoms, you could use a faithful, dedicated, fearless person like Lionel to stand by your side. Many autoimmune diseases are very isolating. It takes a special person to bring help and hope. Sometimes  even showing  us tough love just like Lionel showed the Prince.

It takes just the right person to pull us up and out of our emotional slump and to offer tactics to help overcome despair, discouragement or what have you. While help is available from a variety of sources I would take nothing less than the right help. Prince Albert went to one teacher who instructed him to fill his mouth with marbles and speak. After almost choking to death, the Prince left never to return.

Not everyone, even those who love us dearly, are equipped to help us. There are those who can help us. We need to seek them out like Prince Albert did and then allow them to help us with our special need. It took perseverance, vulnerability and humility on the Princes part. It not only paid off when he became King it went far beyond because he gained a faithful friend for life.

Blessings,  Leslie Rose K

Subscribe to RSS

Subscribe by Email

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Therese on March 3, 2011 at 1:31 PM

    It is great to have a teacher who exhibits wisdom, kindness, and a rapport with his/her students. I have had experiences with who I thought were good teachers. This one teacher was really nice and fun, however when all was said and done, I did not feel that I learned as much from her as I did from a teacher I had previously the year before. That teacher was hard on his students, and did not give in to what I thought were reasonable excuses for not having done well on a quiz (specifically the wrong material was studied by accident). There were no second chances, which at that time, I resented. That teacher should have been more understanding, so I thought.
    After experiencing a year with the “really nice teacher,” I was ready to go back to the “less understanding” teacher and really learn the material that I needed to know. And I never again studied the “wrong lessons accidentally” again!

    The best experiences I had with teachers were when I was in Grades 1-8. I attended a Catholic School in NH and was taught by the most amazing women you could ever meet. Even after my graduation in 1972, I kept in touch with them even up to this present time. Some have gone to heaven, a few are left for me to visit every now and then when I am up in NH. The impact that they left on my life will be forever remembered. There are no words to describe how much I love them and appreciate all that they did for me during a major part of my childhood.

    I have tried to duplicate their teachings to my students during this present day. It’s a work in continuous progress as education and the times have changed in many ways. What was not acceptable behavior in my day, is ok today, and in many cases the basic fundamentals of education are not included in a school curriculum. Very sad….

    I believe that people are put in our lives at the perfect time. For those who are diagnosed with any illness, look closely among the people who are in your midst at various times. We are constantly learning from others, even if the “others” are unaware of what they are teaching us. I can’t speak from experience of having an illness, but I can speak from experience feeling nervous, worried, stressed, wondering what is going to happen next, etc. and there are always lessons that are being learned during those difficult times.

    The other teaching comes from nature. As we walk outside or drive around town, let the beauty of nature remind you that life really is beautiful, and as long as I’m breathing, I have important things to do for myself and others. We learn from watching others and also from mistakes that we make. We learn by experiences we have at given times in our lives whether they are positive or negative. The most important lesson that we all have to learn is how to cope with whatever comes into our lives knowing that there are solutions that are reasonable and appropriate for each individual. We just have to be willing to look for them and then follow through with what we know to be right for us.

    Reply

  2. […] The King’s Speech and YOU Part 2 (dominateyourdiagnosis.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

