Blog Writer Bio

Being a blog writer has its own special challenges, especially when your goal is to encourage people and offer strategies to help them reclaim their lives after a diagnosis of lupus or another autoimmune disease.

I have never written much about myself because I do not see that as the purpose of the blog. I was thinking that perhaps you, the blog reader, would like to know more about me, the blog author, and my journey thus far with lupus.

My entire adult life I have been plagued by headaches. After giving birth to my daughter in 1993 I had two miscarriages, one at 16 weeks and one at 8 weeks.  Later I found out they apparently checked for lupus.

After we moved to beautiful south central PA. and purchased our home, the yard work fell willingly to me and  I enjoyed it.  After a summer or two I did begin to notice aching joints. I used to wonder if I had Lyme’s disease but the discomfort would subside in the fall so I would put it out of my mind.

In early 2002 everything changed. After one day of working in the sun, the skin on my forearms erupted with an angry red rash and stayed that way for months. My cheeks were red all the time, my hair was falling out and I was stricken with ongoing fatigue. The worst part of all this:I did not have a  doctor I could call.

I could not find a doctor to take me on as a patient in a timely fashion. I remember sitting at the kitchen table discouraged and crying when my husband called from work. A co-worker had a lead for a great doctor. I called only to hear she was not taking new patients but her brother would be coming on board Monday and he could see me.

As you probably know it can be extremely hard to find a doctor who will take your symptoms seriously let alone reach a diagnosis of lupus. This doctor took me seriously. We started the journey together to find out what was wrong with me.

My first stop was with a dermatologist. I cannot say the dermatologist took me seriously. I think he wanted me to be almost bald before he would believe my hair was falling out. He did not even recognize the butterfly rash while years ago it was often the dermatologist that diagnosed lupus because of it.

By this time, I was also suffering with low-grade fevers and sore throats every day from late afternoon on. Since we struck out with the blood work and the dermatologist I  was sent for a liver biopsy to check for Hep C. Two weeks after the biopsy, October 11th, I found myself heading for the ER with a high fever and quaking that would not quit.

Next time I will share about my experience in the hospital.  It was certainly one to remember.

Blessings, Leslie Rose K

If you would like to contact me apart from leaving a comment please email me at the following address

leslie@dominateyourdiagnosis.com

Subscribe to RSS

Subscribe by Email

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brenda on March 11, 2011 at 7:08 AM

    Thanks for sharing your story Leslie. I find that it helps me know that I am not crazy in feeling the pains or symptoms that I feel. I think this post will help a lot of people feel that they are not alone and not crazy. Even now I wonder if I have imagined how I feel at times. Because once it leaves you it feels like you dreamed it, even though in your heart you know you felt the pain. So this is a very good post for us all! Thank you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

