Blog Writer Bio Part 2

When I closed the blog last week I was heading to the ER.  Needless to say, I had no idea what was in store for me at the hospital and  the weeks to follow.  They certainly were unforgettable.

I had a CT scan of my liver at 3 am in a cold uninviting room with a guy that kept poking me in the arm because he could not get a vein. The next day a surgeon came in to tell me a shadow on my kidney showed up in the scan. He would be able to remove my one kidney and I would live just fine with the remaining kidney!

On October 14th they did another CT scan  but of my kidneys this time. The shadow was a scar from an old injury and I was able to keep my kidney. In the meantime, I was put on strong antibiotics, had many vials of blood taken, and was seen by several doctors. I was even assigned a kidney doctor. Through all of this my doctor was on vacation and his sister was taking care of me. She was just as relentless in finding a solution to my problem as her brother.

The fourth day in, with some test results in hand, a rheumatologist was consulted. He instructed the doctor to get me off all antibiotics because it was almost certainly the autoimmune disease SLE, more commonly referred to as lupus. Thank God. By the time I left the hospital the next day I could hardly stand up from all the antibiotics and being in bed for 5 days.

The adventure was not over. The kidney doctor wanted a kidney biopsy on the 21st. Just like with the first biopsy, I got very sick afterward and had to have another CT scan of my kidneys on the 28th .  I remember feeling like I was going to have a nervous breakdown when I went for my third CT scan all alone.  I was so terrified I would end up back in the hospital.  (By the time I got to the rheumatologist he told me I was forbidden to have any more dye shot into my body for CT scans.)

At home, I would sit in my chair resting when I did not have to go to a doctor, for tests, or blood work. I remember how my daughter’s face lit up the first day I was able to greet her at the door after school, showered and dressed.

I had to wait weeks to get in to see the rheumatologist. My doctor said he was the best around.  He was right, he was  worth the wait. The first couple of years proved to be the hardest. I saw more doctors, gave more blood, tried all sorts of medications, had all kinds of scopes and tests, and a trip to the ER.  I ended up with severe pleuritis and on steroids.

I did have tremendous support from the prayer team I belong to and from family and friends.  They prayed faithfully for me and  my kidneys drastically improved. Thankfully, I did not need chemo drugs.  As things improved, I was also able to go off the steroids as well.

The story does not end here. Watch for the last part of this series but by no means the end of the journey.

Blessings, Leslie Rose K

If you would like to contact me apart from leaving a comment please email me at the following address

leslie@dominateyourdiagnosis.com

Subscribe to RSS

Subscribe by Email

Related Articles
One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kathy on March 20, 2011 at 8:16 AM

    Great article Leslie!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

