Book Review: If God is Good

Several months ago,   Multnomah Publisher approached me and invited me to blog for books.  The concept is simple.  I would  choose a complimentary book of interest to me, off a specific list of books,  and then have 30 to 90 days to read it and write my review.

I thought this would be a great way to read contemporary books that could in turn help me to write this blog, facilitate the Hanover Area Lupus Support Group, and assist me on this journey called  life.

After I write my book review  I will post it on my blog and on two other sites such as Amazon.  I hope you will find these reviews interesting and insightful.  I am excited to be a part of this and look forward to the books I will have the opportunity to read, review, and share with you.

With that said, because I am close to the deadline, I am going to interrupt our Blog Writer Bio series and insert my first review on the weighty issue of faith in the midst of suffering and evil.

Help for the Suffering

Have you ever felt like an outsider in your church, circle of Christian associates or friends because of your convictions on suffering or evil? I dare say many of us have, especially if we are one of the ones that suffers physically on a daily basis.

I found Randy Alcorn‘s book If God is Good Faith in the Midst of Suffering and Evil a confirmation of my beliefs, a comfort for my soul and an asset to help me minister to others. This book presents a theologically sound and extremely thorough exposition on suffering and evil. The author helps us understand the problem of suffering and evil, and the role it plays in Christ’s redemptive work. He discusses why God allows it, whether it took Him by surprise, and solutions to the problem.  He includes perspectives from those who do not acknowledge God, offers purposes for suffering and evil and strategies on how to live a meaningful life in spite of suffering and evil.

While this is a great book for anyone working in a ministerial capacity, it would also be very informative and comforting for those who struggle with suffering or want to help someone else who is. Alcorn leaves no stone unturned. If you have a question, the answer is probably somewhere in this book. There are theological words and concepts that may challenge some readers and there is some repetition that may discourage others but at 494 pages I strongly encourage faithfulness until the end.

This is a reference book worth having at your fingertips. It is a well researched apologetic book that will most likely win your heart with its many testimonies of God’s goodness and faithfulness, in spite of suffering and evil. You will be encouraged by the assurance that nothing takes our sovereign God by surprise and that He is powerful enough to bring good out of the worst possible situations.

Personally, I learned a great deal from this expository book. Alcorn covers angles I have never even considered. He gives many pertinent and moving examples from life that reinforce his points. For example his discussion on how life loses meaning without suffering was excellent. His conclusions go beyond the common declaration that many people turn to God or grow closer to Him, because of their suffering.

So, if your convictions regarding suffering have made you feel like an outsider, I believe you will be fortified by reading this book. It will give you tools to cope with suffering and evil and tools to help you help others. I highly recommend this book and give it 4 ½ stars.

Waterbrook Multnomah Publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes.

Please take a moment to rank this review. Click on green box. Thanks.

Leslie Rose K    Dominate Your Diagnosis  

If you would like to contact me apart from leaving a comment please email me at the following address

leslie@dominateyourdiagnosis.com

Subscribe to RSS

Subscribe by Email

Related Articles
Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

