Blog Writer Bio Part 3

Welcome back to part three of the Blog Writer’s Bio.  I hope you found the book review interesting.  I have already started my next book to review, Life Without Limits. It is about a man named Nick who was born without limbs and how he became a  motivational speaker.

Back to the Bio…. I find it  important for me to stay engaged in life the best I can.  I took a grueling two-year correspondence course for writing.  I have been on the prayer team at church for over eleven years.  I  volunteer within my capabilities.  I make it a point to pursue my quilting, wool applique and card making. I have recently been contracted for a very part-time job as a facilitator for Family Group Decision Making.

I have been married to Ron for over twenty years.  We have one daughter, Elizabeth,  that I home-schooled for 5 years. She graduated a year early from high school and now attends community college.  Next year she will go on to a university and study  international relations.  I can’t forget my lap-cat named Jacob.  He came into my life the week I went into the hospital and has been a great companion through some very difficult times.

Several years into this journey with lupus I  began to see a need for a support system outside my family, friends and church. I knew there had to be other people feeling isolated by this disease that needed support also. In May 2007 I began to facilitate a support group in the Hanover area for Lupus PA .

I improved steadily and two years ago the doctor started saying the lupus was not active. I found out that not active lupus does not mean pain-free. Fatigue is my biggest ongoing issue at this time.  Joint and nerve pain from damaged tissue is a problem.  In addition to Reynaud’s I have constant, annoying ringing in my ears.

Recently I have been dealing with a variety of very uncomfortable symptoms in my mouth and eyes and was diagnosed with Sjogren’s Syndrome.  When I received this new diagnosis and read about it I became  discouraged. So while I try to encourage others, I myself needed encouraging. I needed someone to remind me of some strategies.

God did not let me down. After being away for a few days I came home to a card from my mother-in-law filled with encouragement to press on, be strong in the Lord and to not stop doing what I am doing. It was a real pep talk on paper.

Life with autoimmune disease is certainly a journey.  Like Nick in the book Life Without Limits, we can’t let it derail us, at least not for long.  And, if we can help each other along the way, we will all be better for it.

I pray that I am a help and a blessing to you on your journey. Until next time…..

Blessings, Leslie Rose K

If you would like to contact me apart from leaving a comment please email me at the following address

leslie@dominateyourdiagnosis.com

Subscribe to RSS

Subscribe by Email

Related Articles
3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brenda on March 26, 2011 at 8:18 PM

    You are a blessing to me Leslie, without the support group I would be floudering around without a purpose. It is the support group and your friendship that gives the support that I need to continue on with this journey. I thank you for all your prayers and blessings that you take the time to give. My prayers and thoughts are with you as well. Thanks for all you do!!

    Reply

    • Oh Brenda, You are a blessing to me too. I thank God that I have gotten to know you. I am glad that the support group is a blessing to you. We certainly need to take time to support and encourage each other. This is not something we can walk through alone. Thanks for your continuous encouragement. Be blessed dear friend.

      Reply

  2. Just a note on a very small part of your wonderful post (you are an inspiration in your struggle and your accomplishments!)

    You mentioned ringing in the ears (tinnitus) which is something I’ve experienced for 20+ years. You may know this already, but NSAIDS can make it worse – even permanent. Life without NSAIDS is not possible for me, and I can usually drown out the ringing with white noise, but I wanted to be sure you had the info.

    Btw, my lap-cat is doing his best to get between me and this keyboard right nowe776tllllllllkkkkkkkkkkk

    *grin*
    Peace.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

