A Body in Motion

“A body in motion tends to stay in motion; a body at rest tends to stay at rest.” Have you heard that on TV recently?  I can’t seem to get it out of my mind.  It reminds me of the chapter I just finished in Life Without Limits, my current book to read and review.

In Life Without Limits, Chapter Five, Nick discusses what he considers the top four attitudes in dealing with incredible challenges in life such as disfigurement, cancer, lupus, death of a loved one etc.  His top four are:

  • An attitude of gratitude
  • An attitude of action
  • An attitude of empathy
  • An attitude of forgiveness

From reading this great chapter it seems that people fall more predominantly   into one category, even though they may have several or all four attitudes.  It was thrilling to see “An attitude of action” on the list. It validated how I cope best. I just told someone the other day that my coping mechanism  is staying active. I commented that I did not know if it was  good or bad, but it helps me stay focused on the positive and moving forward.

While walking and exercising is a great way to stay in motion, I want to expand our thinking to low impact activities that keep you engaged in life and get your mind off your troubles.    Here are some of the things I like to do:

  • Make cards and  send them to people in need.
  • Work with wool and make penny rugs.  I find it very satisfying and low impact.
  • Reading. I like to have more than one type of book going at a time to keep it interesting.
  • Quilting. Currently, I am working on baby quilts for Japan.

We have someone in our support group who loves woodworking.  The following month after we had this discussion he came in with items he had worked on.  He said it felt great to  make things with his hands again.  He gave me a beautiful oak dove that I keep on my hutch.

If you are not a crafty person, try to come up with something you think you could do, would enjoy, and then make it happen.  It  could be doing  puzzles, writing letters to people in need of a friend, or cooking  a new recipe if you are able.  You could even try your hand at writing a blog. That will keep you busy.

Another member of our support group faithfully goes to the health center to swim and exercise.    She is a tremendous inspiration to our support group.  Besides what it does for her physically, it helps her emotionally being with other people, especially when they miss her after she has been away a while.

Another strategy to keep moving is to find a “buddy”.  My friend and I often get together to help each other make cards for our soldiers.  She also has lupus making it is easy for us to be gracious to each other when we have to change our plans. Several from our quilt guild were working on  quilts for Japan, so we joined together for two days to work and keep each other company.  We got to know each other better and the time passed quickly.

I think finding a buddy is very therapeutic.  It  takes time to build relationship but is well worth the effort.  Even getting together once or twice a month gives you something to look forward to, and helps keep you active.  Maybe there is a friend that has moved out of the area.  You could make a plan to visit by phone a couple of times a month.

While it is easier to keep the momentum going after  being  active for a while, it is never too late to start.  You will feel so much better for it, especially emotionally.  It is very rewarding for me to  send a handmade card or give a handmade gift.  It was great reading about the work Greg Mortenson, (Three cups of Tea), did in Pakistan and continues to do.   And, it is especially nice to get together with my “buddy”.  I am still working on the exercise and walking, but then that is a whole other blog or two or more.

Your predominant attitude of coping may be something different.  I would love to hear about it and I am sure others would  also. If your attitude is activity, tell us what you do to stay active.  It would be great to get more ideas on the table.

Looking forward to hearing from you….Leslie Rose K

If you would like to contact me apart from leaving a comment please email me at the following address

leslie@dominateyourdiagnosis.com

Subscribe to RSS

Subscribe by Email

Psychologist and philosopher William James, said that one of the greatest discoveries of his generation was the realization that by changing our attitudes we can change our lives.   -Life Without Limits

Often the very challenges that we think are holding us back are,in fact, making us stronger.  You should be open to the possibility that today’s handicap might be tomorrow’s advantage.  -Nick Vujicic  Life Without Limits

8 responses to this post.

  1. After having passed thru a particularly nasty period of being forced to be completely inactive due to my lupus and other medical issues, I have been, over the last month, able to start doing my paper crafts again. I can say that I take SUCH DELIGHT now, in being able to do these things that I had to give up for so long. I WONDER at the time I can now spend with family and friends, when not so long ago I was in bed isolated, and it heartens me and inspires me to keep moving forward the best way I can. If nothing else, the truly bad times make us appreciate being active (whatever that means for you) and taking part in things we thought maybe were lost to us. Peace

    Reply

    • Posted by Brenda on April 11, 2011 at 8:31 AM

      So glad to hear that you are able to get back to your paper crafts Tracy!! That is so wonderful and I know how much delight it gives as it gives me the same delight!! Hugs to you!

      Reply

  2. I am so glad you are feeling better Tracy. It is long over do. Keep crafting, maybe you can join me and Brenda someday soon.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Brenda on April 11, 2011 at 8:29 AM

    I so agree with this post Leslie! It is always great to have a buddy to encourage and inspire us!! I love and cherish the time I spend with my buddies and I love how they always inspire me to always keep going. Whether it is going craft shopping or staying home working on a crafting project, it feels good to keep my body moving with a friend!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kathy on April 12, 2011 at 7:01 PM

    I like to read a lot even though those around me don’t like it. I also started volunteeering at the SPCA. I am now an official dog walker. I can do it when and if I am able to. No pressure!! There is nothing like being greeted by an excited dog to make your day.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jackie Paulson Author on May 4, 2011 at 3:16 AM

    Nick can inspire anyone. I love that the girl hugs him in his presentation and cries and says thank you for telling me I am loved and beautiful. God loves all of us equally. He really inspired me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

