From Frolicking to Fear

Declan McCullagh photograph

As a child, I lived in Corpus Christi, Texas for a short time.  We were frequent visitors to the Gulf of Mexico, where we swam, fished and dug up tiny shell-fish to fry at home and  eat.  One day, while swimming in the water, we were all stung by jellyfish.  The dads, dragged us kids to shore, tried to console us, and fix us up.

I love the ocean, but to this day, no swim is ever completely carefree, as thoughts of sharks and jellyfish dance around in the far reaches of my mind.  I  love being out in the deep-barely touching the bottom.  Not my husband though. So, it was a joy to have my eighteen year old daughter out there  with me,  for company.

Swimming in the ocean you have to consistently reposition yourself or you will find yourself  down the beach, far from your family and/or belongings.  This activity in itself, can wear a person out, especially if you live with chronic illness.

At one point, when I was trying to reposition myself,  it was very difficult to move forward.  Within seconds, I went from frolicking with my daughter, to struggling to get out from under the oceans grip, pulling me back, deeper and deeper into the water.  Thank God my daughter was ahead of me enough, that she did not have to struggle like I did.  I quickly realized, I was no longer the strong swimmer I used to be. I  had to fight very hard to get out from under the pull of the current, my daughter coaxing me forward the whole time.

It was a brief,  frightening episode.  The ocean caught me off guard. I was looking for other predators, not for the ocean to become my enemy. Isn’t life like that sometimes?  Blind-siding us, putting us off balance.  What can we possibly do in our defense?

More next time…. send your comments and experiences.

Blessings….Leslie Rose K

If you enjoy reading this blog, click here to  Subscribe by Email.

leslie@dominateyourdiagnosis.com

Header photo taken by Leslie Rose K…recent view out our backdoor

One response to this post.

  1. […] left off last time with the question, what can we do in our defense, when life blind-sides us.  My experiences as a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

