Doubled over with Discouragement

What person in your life has the ability to get you to double over in laughter? They seem to have a knack for acting silly and stupid. I was not gifted with a big sense of humor but from day one my husband could make me laugh until I cry. Unfortunately, it is not often enough, especially if the adage, laughter is the best medicine, is true.

Conversely, is there a person or situation that doubles you over in discouragement? I remember going to the doctor once and sobbing all the way home. That day, my doctor firmly reminded me, that I had lupus and I would always have lupus no matter what I did. Talk about doubled over…I could not wait to get home into the arms of my family for encouragement. I could not deal with that alone, not then anyway. Now, nine years later, I am pretty sure I would not react the same way.

Living with lupus or another chronic illness can be discouraging, especially early on in the diagnosis.  Discouragement can be a destructive force in our life if it goes unchecked.

  • it can lead to depression
  • which can lead to isolation
  • which can lead to a break down in our relationships
  • and even poorer health

There is nothing constructive about being overcome with discouragement. There are things that we can do to overcome it.

  • get support from family, friends, and a support group or person
  • get educated about the issue you face
  • find soothing things that bring focus and serenity back to your life such as:  prayer or meditation , music, reading, journaling
  • make a choice to focus on the positive in life

We all get discouraged from time to time. I am talking about a discouragement that will slowly rob the life out of you. There is always hope. Don’t let any one, including yourself, tell you differently. As for me, my husband and daughter were there to get me back on track. As for the doctor’s prediction, I believe in miracles.

Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff…and it’s all small stuff, a great little resource book, explains the snowball effect. We will look at this next time.

Until then,many blessings to you, Leslie Rose K

If you enjoy reading this blog, click here to  Subscribe by Email.

“Walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light.” ~Helen Keller~

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brenda on October 8, 2011 at 7:05 PM

    Great post Leslie. It can be all to easy to get double over with discouragement and that is why we need to work very hard not to get discouraged. We need to lean on family and friends to help keep our chins up. I am very blessed to have family and friends who do just that. They keep me discouraged and also grounded. I am very blessed and grateful for them. I can’t even imagine my life dealing with Lupus, RA and Fibromyalgia without their encouraging words. God is indeed good and I believe in miracles as well! Blessings-Brenda

    Reply

  2. Excellent post! Even as I met a good doctor only yesterday, I had to accept the fact that she spoke the truth and said “This isn’t what you want to hear, I know…”

    I have hung my head countless times in the past and said to myself “I can’t do this anymore” but before the thought is even finished, I know it isn’t true.

    What I can never do is really, truly, give up on living with whatever definition of “fully” is mine to have. Thanks to God, this hidden life of mine is very, very full (even when I need a kick in the seat to remind me *s*)

    Peace.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

