Blog Writer Blues

It seems as though I barely hit the publish button last week, when I began a battle with discouragement.  One negative thought led to another and then another. Soon, things were looking pretty bleak and I was feeling sorry for myself.

Not YOU, you say. You are the blog writer, doling out advice post after post.  Surely you never get discouraged, depressed or doubtful?

Yup. I am just like you.  If you are anything like me, when your mind starts down the wrong track, it is easy for things to accelerate, and turn into a runaway train.  Concerns for my future are a biggie for me.  I would think, anyone dealing with lupus or other serious health concerns, struggle in this area, as well.

Or picture waking up at night, and a thought comes to you about an unresolved issue. Your mind grabs hold of it and tries to solve the problem with all sorts of scenarios. You drift in and out of sleep, being robbed of the deep sleep that you desperately need.

This is called the Snowball Effect.  If you entertain these thoughts they can overwhelm, agitate, depress and/or discourage you, exacerbating the problem.

In his book, Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff…and it’s all small stuff, Richard Carlson PH.D. says the solution is to take note of what is happening in your head, before your thoughts have a chance to build momentum.  He says, the sooner you catch yourself in the act of building a mental snowball, the easier it is to stop. He recommends having a pen and paper by the bed to write down the things that pop into your mind in the night and tell yourself you will take care of it in the morning.

From years of experience, this sounds easier than it is.  It takes real discipline.  I find that reaching out to a confidant  or asking for prayer support can also help.  Reading books like Carlson’s,  over and over and over again, helps.

As for me, several weeks ago I asked a dear friend to be my “blog” prayer partner.  She graciously agreed.  I shared my blues with her. At the end of church today, the Pastor’s prayer for the congregation was exactly what I needed.  Thank God, the blues are slowly retreating as I take captive of these runaway thoughts and redirect my thinking.

Until next time, I pray you and I, will walk in peace of mind.

Blessings, Leslie Rose K

If you enjoy reading this blog, click here to  Subscribe by Email.

The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitude.  -William James

Header photo from  http://wallpapersforipad.net

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vanessa on October 17, 2011 at 9:28 AM

    Wow, I feel you on this. I wish we could talk. I have been struggling with an issue, and just when I thought I finally conquered the negative thoughts, they come creeping in. I, well it’s rather complicated, but I have struggled this past week with discouragement. I don’t like dealing with deceptive people, and it seems I have a few family members that lives close by and well you can’t just ignore or keep them out of your life.

    Reply

    • It takes work, but is worth getting the victory over this stuff. My support partner is proving to be crucial with helping me. I suggest you find a buddy you can confide in and let them help before it gets to be too overwhelming.

      Reply

  2. Posted by lupusadventurer on October 17, 2011 at 12:36 PM

    Excellent and helpful post for newly diagnosed lupus patients. Thanks for dealing with the “head trip” that goes with the diagnosis.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

