Resignation or Peace

Recovering from the fall I had before New Year’s,  reminds me of the many days early in my diagnosis of lupus when I had to rest and wait.

I had no choice but rest, I could not manage anything else, and wait, for better days.  On the bad days, it is easy to think better days will not come, but they do. It will be a “new” better though.

It is making peace with the “new” better, that can be the biggest challenge of life with auto-immune diseases such as lupus.  Make peace we must, if we are to truly proceed with a life worth living.

Making peace is not an easy task. It is something you have to do over and over. Some may see it as resignation and perhaps it is. I do not like to phrase it that way.  Resignation has negative implications to me where peace does not.

Resignation implies surrender or submission while peace implies harmony or tranquility.  My nature does not lean toward surrender very easily, but longs to walk in tranquility.  The thought of surrendering to lupus etc.  is unpleasant to me.

Robert H. Phillips, Ph.D., author of Coping with Lupus, recognizes the tremendous impact coping with lupus has on our emotions.  He feels the most important question is one that only we can answer:”Will I give up living because of lupus, or will I continue to live despite lupus?”

Here is a quick overview of his book.

  • Lupus: An Overview
  • Changes in General Lifestyle
  • Your Emotions
  • Interacting with Other People

Next time, we will begin a journey exploring our emotions.

I am going to try a new approach the beginning of this year. I will write more frequently, less formally and hopefully shorter.  I would like to get more dialogue going.  Right now I would like to know your viewpoint. Do you feel you have to surrender to lupus or make peace with living with lupus. Please explain.  (Sorry for the previous email. The post was shot out there before it was done. That is what one slip of the finger can do!)

Until next time…..Blessings…Leslie Rose K

If you enjoy reading this blog, click here to  Subscribe by Email . You will  receive it directly in your inbox and  not miss a post.

The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitude. -William James

leslie@dominateyourdiagnosis.com

3 responses to this post.

  1. I feel that I am making peace with Lupus. Learning how to live with it, learning my limits because of it. But not stopping my life because of it, just learning to pace myself because of it. I won’t stop living because of Lupus, but I am more than willing to make peace with Lupus and live my life a little more slowly. Which really isn’t such a bad thing after all. Life moves at such a fast pace anymore that I think we all could slow down a bit.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lupusadventurer on January 24, 2012 at 12:33 AM

    Thanks for the excellent book review on Dr. Phillips’ important lupus guide. He is one of the true experts out there writing great resource books for us, and I have found his books very helpful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

