Are you happy with your doctor?

No one is more aware than I am, that I said I wanted to post a little more often. It seems impossible with the amount of things to attend to, the struggles of my body and the speed with which the weeks go by.  Many of you feel the same way and  it does not seem to matter if you work outside the home or not.

Living with lupus and/or other autoimmune diseases gives us  more in common, such as caring for our emotional well-being.  There are many practical steps we can take on our own behalf. Today we will explore getting the best medical care possible.

If you have dealt with doctors any length of time, you would probably agree not all doctors are good, or  not a good match for your particular needs or personality.   When I met with my rheumatologist for the first time, I was interrogated about why I was traveling so far to see him (45-50 minutes) and why I was willing to wait so long for my first appointment.  I told him the answer was simple, my family doctor recommended him, and said he was the best he knew of in the area.

I have seen my rheumatologist for over 9 years,  overall, he has lived up to my primary care physician’s  opinion.  Among other things he

  • faithfully monitors my condition
  • watches my medications carefully
  • does not over medicate me
  • tries his best to hear my concerns, though it may take a couple of visits.

It took time for me to get to know my doctor and for him to get to know me.  I do not agree with everything he says, but respect his experience and knowledge, and trust that he has my best interest in mind. It is important to be able to communicate with your doctor. If you are having a difficult time, there are resources on the web that can  help you.  You can start here with a fantastic article from the Lupus Foundation of America.

Some doctors may be a little more challenging to warm up to.  It can take time to build  rapport.   If you are questioning your care, be proactive.  It is crucial you get the best care possible in dealing with lupus and the other things that crop up.

Next time, we will discuss support groups.

Blessings to you…Leslie Rose K

If you enjoy reading this blog, click here to  Subscribe by Email . You will  receive it directly in your inbox and  not miss a post.

The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitude. -William James

leslie@dominateyourdiagnosis.com

One response to this post.

  1. […] Are you happy with your doctor?(dominateyourdiagnosis.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

