Get Rid of Negativity Once and for All

Negativity is like working a stair stepper, you put out a lot of energy but do not actually go anywhere.  However, unlike a stair stepper which strengthens your body, negativity weakens your body.

Dr. Robert H. Phillips in his book Coping with Lupus says a negative attitude can make existing emotional problems worse whether or not they are caused by lupus. Improving our attitude, will improve every other aspect of our lives.  Concentrating on the positive is key here. There are many resources available to help with this.  You can search on-line or go to the library. He  believes if you get one good idea out of book it will be worth what you paid for it. (My godmother used to say this about cookbooks. If you remember from a past post, I have no shortage of cookbooks.)

In November, I wrote about the Grace Journal.  I have faithfully been keeping a journal since then, writing in it at least five times a week, as recommended.  I do this right before I go to bed and find it to have a calming effect.  I am reminded of my many blessings and could sometimes fill a whole page with my grateful thoughts.  It has boosted my happiness and quality of life just like Dr. Emmons said it would.

Several years ago when I was outside mowing,  I was silently wishing I had a different house. I wanted one with more personality.  This was not the first time I thought about this. It was becoming a habit. Discontentment was slowly getting a foothold.  That day on the mower I sensed God speaking to  me about covetousness. The Oxford dictionary says it is “having or showing a great desire to possess something, typically something belonging to someone else.”  In this  age of living big, that is easy to do.  Now, whenever these thoughts come to my mind, I am reminded of that day and thank God for the blessing I have.

When you start doing something like this you begin to see how truly blessed you are.   There is always someone better off than us or worse off than us. The peace comes when we are content with our own life and ourselves. It is proven that when we think positive thoughts, we will feel better.  I have found when I  feel better emotionally, I feel better physically and even have more energy.

When you deal with a chronic illness like lupus, it is very easy to covet what others seem to have in the way of health, freedom from restrictions and pain etc.   It takes practice to keep your mind from focusing on the negative.  Starting with a Grace Journal will be a big help.  It does not have to be just for bedtime.  If you really struggle with focusing on the negative, carry it around with you. When you catch yourself beginning to focus on the negative, whip out your journal and write something positive. If you do this often enough you will find that your thought patterns will begin to change and you will reap the rewards  in your mind, body, and life.

What are your thoughts on this subject?

If you enjoy reading this blog, click here to  Subscribe by Email. You will  receive it directly in your inbox and  not miss a post.  Many blessings. Praying God will strengthen and energize you this week.  Leslie Rose K

The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitude. -William James

leslie@dominateyourdiagnosis.com

4 responses to this post.

  1. I have found that my Grace Journal has helped me be much happier and less negative when I used it regularly. I love writing in it and find that I have so much to be grateful for. I would recommend it to everyone, it really does make a difference on your outlook in life. I am very happy that I started one and rarely have problems thinking of something to be grateful for. If I miss some days writing in it I can really tell a difference in my attitude. Thanks to you Leslie for suggesting it to us in this blog. Love my Grace Journal!!

    Reply

  2. Greetings! Very useful advice within this post! It is the little changes that produce the greatest changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

