Riding your way to resolution success. Part 3

Remember learning to ride a bike? If you did not have training wheels someone had to hold the bike up for you. Once you got on, they had to hold you and the bike upright.  I am fairly certain that no one went riding down the road without some sort of help, the first time on a two-wheel bike.  And, I can almost guarantee that once you learned to ride, there were some falls along the way until you became really good at it.

My parents  divorced when I was young.  My mother’s cousin used to come from New York to Ct. to visit us occasionally.   Sometimes his cousin and his future brother-in-law would also visit.  One time they all chipped in and bought me a white Schwinn ten speed.  It was thrilling,  to say the least.  I was not really big enough for the bike, but I proudly rode it any way, until one day, I rode it right into a neighbors car.

Setting a goal, and attempting to reach it, is much like learning to ride a bike.  Sometimes the goal can seem so big, you feel like  an eight year old riding a big Schwinn ten speed.   It can be easy to get  frustrated with setbacks and feel like giving up.  I want to urge you to keep getting back up and keep working toward the goal.  Just like learning to ride a bike, you will learn to master yourself, and one day reach your goal.

Riding my stationary bike has not been perfect.  Health issues, life and my inconsistent behavior  keep me from being a model exerciser but I keep plugging along.  The benefits keep drawing me back to the bike.  I would like to encourage you to do something special for yourself by working toward a life changing goal that has been on your heart for a long time.  (I added another one this year, but more on that next time.)

I am praying this series on resolutions will be  a life changer for you. Whether you have  lupus or not, you can do it.

Many Blessings, Leslie Rose K

If you enjoy reading this blog, click here to  Subscribe by Email

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah on February 18, 2013 at 2:56 PM

    Leslie, this was very encouraging and well written! I like how you circled back to the application to perseverance and learning to ride. I often have difficulty establishing the steps toward the goal and can get frustrated by waiting and pedaling and seeing (seemingly) nothing happen. I appreciate your insight and personal story! I also appreciate your commitment to this blog. God bless you!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Brenda on February 18, 2013 at 5:54 PM

    Great post Leslie and I love the new look of the blog! Yes, it can be difficult and feel like you are petaling and getting nowhere, but we all must keep up and not get discouraged. We all have our “bad” days, but we have good days too and I like to have the good days out weight the bad days and I can do that if I keep my spirits up and keep my body moving!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

