30 Posts of enCOURAGEment Post 6

Twenty years ago I gave birth to my daughter by c-section, I was  in extreme discomfort from a painful procedure done days before delivery and I was struggling with nursing my baby.  I was having a rough time to say the least.  Unfortunately for me, warmth and compassion did not seem to be one of the job requirements of the nursing staff.  Then one day a ray of sunshine entered my room as a kind and gentle nurse’s aide came in to help me get washed up.  It was a simple act that I never forgot.Nursing-and-Psychiatric-Aides-8

On  my most difficult days dealing with lupus I was always extremely thankful for the kindness anyone showed me.  When I had  liver and kidney biopsies I felt  alone and vulnerable but the kindness of the women helping during procedures reassured me.   When you feel like you are being beaten up by an unseen foe, kindness goes a long way to pour healing balm over your soul.

My husband is gentle, attentive and caring on his job. I always tell him he would be great working with preemies but he feels that would be too emotionally stressful.  Frankly, I do not know what could be harder than what he does now.  He came home from work one day this week and told me one of their residents  passed away.  That, however, is the nature of his job, never knowing from day-to-day how things will go.

Working in a sub-acute facility as a respiratory therapist can be very challenging.  There are a variety of extremely dependent people. Some are paralyzed, some cannot speak or eat, some have brain injuries and a few are in a comatose state.  The one thing they all have in common is that they depend on respiratory therapists along with all the other healthcare professionals to help them from day-to-day.20121904125311

Like any other job you can  quickly move from patient to patient giving nothing extra.  I am thankful for a husband, who along with many of  his coworkers, repeatedly choose to go the extra mile for their patients when they can.

Like the  aides who cared for me, my husband will never know the full impact he has had on people by bringing them ice chips and treats, helping them move their limbs and get comfortable, making their tracheostomies etc. more comfortable, and speaking words of encouragement and hope.

Thank God for all the dedicated health care professionals that sacrifice of themselves to bless and encourage others day in and day out. May God richly bless them and strengthen them for the task.kindness-random

Many Blessings….Leslie Rose K

If you don’t want to miss a post. Click here to  Subscribe by Email

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Brenda on March 27, 2013 at 1:10 PM

    You are so right Leslie there are many people that will go above and beyond and that can make the biggest difference for someone. I’ve always been treated with such kindness when getting care and I am very thankful for the heath care workers and their kindness. I hope that I never take them for granted, for they are my angels looking over me. Have a Blessed Easter my friend!! Hugs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

