30 Posts of enCOURAGEment Post 8

Did you ever have to stand up and speak in front of a large group of people?   I have, several times, and it is not easy.  Want-Me-To-Give-A-Speech-No-Sweat1Frankly, I do not like it.  I do not even like the thought of it.  So when I see these braves souls on TV singing in front of millions of viewers for the first time, I marvel at their courage.   No matter how good they are, it still takes courage.

A few years ago my daughter and I watched a couple of seasons of American Idol.  It did not win me back for a third season.  I was so tired of the drama, negative comments and feedback.  Not all the input was negative but it was enough not to draw me back.  Then, by accident, my husband and I discovered The Voice. We watched two seasons and are in the beginning of our third.  It made fans out of us.

What is the difference between the two?  For me the spirit of the show is completely different.  The contestants give a blind audition.  This means the judges have their backs to the singer.  They have no idea what the person looks like. Whether the singer makes the cut to progress to the contest  is based solely on their talent.

The judges don’t chew the singers up if they do not meet their standard.  Parents do not have to be afraid to let their teens audition. No one is going to be humiliated on stage if they do not make the cut.  They will most certainly be disappointed, but they will not be humiliated.  It is nice to TheVoice__Logo_Handwatch the singers develop throughout the season under the direction of the coach that selected them for their team.  At the end of the season the sets and songs are impressive and entertaining.

Reality TV has made public humiliation entertainment.  My husband and I don’t enjoy watching it.  I heard shaming is even a main tactic in the classroom to try to get kids to cooperate.  Where are we heading with all this?  A good question to ask ourselves is, are we encouraging those around us? Are we encouraging the next generation? Are we encouraging those that are showing courage and stepping out of their comfort zone to try something new or amazing?

Kudos to the Voice for being an example of encouragement in a climate of public humiliation.

Many blessings….Leslie Rose K

If you don’t want to miss a post. Click here to  Subscribe by Email

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brenda on April 3, 2013 at 9:41 AM

    I love this show too Leslie, the other one is so negative and humiliation shouldn’t be part of the show, but it is. So that is why I don’t watch it as well. Besides the fact the the judges can’t get along either. I love the good nature joking that goes on in the Voice. I love the encourage, the kindness they show to the contests when no one turns around, etc…I think we should always give kudos to those who have the courage to get up in front of the public. Or for anyone that has courage to do whatever it is that they need to do outside of their comfort zone. I’m in awe of these people because that is very hard to do. Great post Leslie!

    Reply

    • Yes the interaction between judges is great. I was a little nervous this season with the changes but it is working well. I also love the hugs and words of encouragement given to those who are disappointed or visibly shaken and upset. I hope the show stays on this track. This is what we need more of today, not the tearing down,but the building up. Thanks for your comments Brenda.

      Sent from Windows Mail

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

