30 Posts of enCOURAGEment Post 13

Remember the last post about The Little Cracked Pot?  Are you letting what you cannot do define you?  I hope the following post will encourage you.

C137 Finals IQA 2013.indd

Award-Winning Quilts 2013 Calendar
Click Image for detail

A good quilt show is a magical place.   As a quilter myself, I marvel at the wonders I often see at these shows.   There are mesmerizing miniature  quilts where a 12″ x 12″ area could contain hundreds of tiny pieces sewn together.  There are spectacular large quilts of every kind, whole-cloth, applique, and pieced, along with every size and style in  between.

There  are quilters who finish their quilts  with a substantial amount of machine quilting stitches and  the minimalist who tends to quilt  sparingly, but perfectly by hand.  There are three-dimensional quilts and quilts done in  separate sections.  Some people even use different  fibers such as wool  and  silk.

You could find a quilt with bright and bold color combination’s along side a quilt with soft pastels.  There could be a quilt with large wildlife prints next to one with  calico fabric.  Each quilt is as different as its creator.  Each quilt has a story behind it. One quilter may have had a desire to  get out of a rut of stagnation and another to send a message about a current hot-button issue.

I have to admit that when I go to these fantastic quilt shows, I marvel at the time, energy, creativity and ability these  artists have.  In my opinion, I do not have  enough of any of these things, but wish I did.  It is easy to feel like an insignificant quilter in the shadow of so many stunning quilts.  I could spend a lifetime trying to make a showstopper quilt, but I would get nothing else done. No quilts to keep my loved ones warm and cozy.  No  quilts to bring life to a plain wall or room.  No table runners to invite people to a home cooked meal. No quilts for friends and family to enjoy.

Sewing the binding on my daughters quilt

Sewing the binding on my daughters quilt
Click image for detail

I made a patchwork quilt  for my daughter’s bed when she was three.   This photo always makes me smile of her sitting on the quilt, while I am at the sewing machine attempting to sew on its binding.  Now that quilt is quite worn from 17 years of use, the colors have faded and it is looking a little threadbare in places.  For people who struggle with the challenges of  an autoimmune diseases like lupus, it is easy to feel like a worn out patchwork quilt most days.  It is natural  to occasionally get in a funk and feel like you have little value in this fast-paced, high achievement world.

While the award-winning quilt is wonderful, you would not wrap your sick child in it, because it is often for visual enjoyment only.  On the other hand,  patchwork quilts are some of the most used and best-loved quilts around.   When my daughter was a teenager, she told me  that she  keeps the end with the  label up toward the top so she can read the handwritten message  each night before going to sleep. To this day, my daughter treasures that patchwork quilt. She tells me it would be one of the things she would take  if there was a fire.

So while you and I may feel like  simple patchwork quilts most days, I bet  our families would say we are priceless treasures that they would not part with for anything.  They would most likely rank us right up there with the showstopper quilts.

When it is all said and done, the quilt show does inspire me, even though  I  have to remind myself not to compare myself with these gifted quilters.  Each one of our lives is as unique as we are and we all have special talents and gifts to share.  The trick is  finding those gifts and sharing them as we are able. You could say, like The Little Cracked Pot.

IMG_2972

The quilt now. Click Image for detail.

Whether you are a quilter or not, if you have never been to a national quilt show like The Pennsylvania National Quilt Extravaganza,  you should consider going to one, it will be an experience you will not soon forget.  Reposted from 04/05/2011

Blessings, Leslie Rose K

If you do not want to miss a post click here to Subscribe by Email

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brenda on April 26, 2013 at 8:00 AM

    I have always believed that no matter what our talents are we all have something to offer. Yes, some have more talents than I do, but what talents I do have are unique to me and I know that my family and friends enjoy my talents. The first quilt is gorgeous, not doubt about that, but your daughter’s quilt is precious!! To me is it just as gorgeous as the one that was featured at the quilt show. It has been a comfort to your daughter and given your daughter warmth when needed. It does so much more than the “show” quilt!!! Yes, I love to look, oh and ah over the fancy quilts-they are pure joy to behold so they offer what I call “eye candy”. I love them!! But I adore something some one makes me, it is cherished and loved fully. It isn’t “eye candy” to me. Everything has a place and everyone has something to offer no matter what it is. This was a great post Leslie and it will get everyone thinking!!

    Reply

    • Thanks for your ongoing support and input. You are an encourager. Eye candy is a good word to use. I never thought of that phrase.

      Reply

      • Hi, I truly enjoyed reading your messages of hope. They are very inspiring, and true stories that can be felt. The truth can always be felt, this is why I love reading, and hearing about nothing but the truth (smile). I have fibromyagia, GERD, IBS, Osteoarthritis, and a host of other things that I dare not mention at this time. It is a challenge waking up everyday. But what keeps me going is knowing that as long as I have breath, there is hope”, and though everyday that we suffer seems like forever — but this too will pass. You might be interested in my Writing Realities blog. I have a Hope Notes section as well.http://www.writingrealities.com/hopenotes.html. I am still working on this section, as I will be adding a comment box. Please take a moment to visit my blog. I would love for you to comment on some of my articles there. http://www.writingrealities.com/my-blog.html. In the meantime, I will be visiting your blog on a regular basis. I enjoy your messages.

      • Thanks for stopping by. I am glad you were blessed. I most certainly will check out your blog the first chance I get. Thanks again for stopping by and for the encouraging words. Leslie
        PS you won’t want to miss Adam’s story next time.

  2. Posted by Jean Makl on April 26, 2013 at 9:06 AM

    Hi Leslie,

    Your post was very inspiring and so well written as are all your posts. The picture of you working on Elizabeth’s quilt while she watches is priceless. If you entered it in a mother and daughter photo contest it would win first prize.

    Now the count down for June 30th begins and I know how you and Ron are anxiously waiting for that happy reunion.

    I hope you are well and I look forward to your next post.

    Love, Aunt Jean

    Reply

  3. I for all time emailed this web site post page
    to all my associates, for the reason that if like to
    read it afterward my friends will too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

