30 Posts of enCOURAGEment Post19

Lupus, like many other autoimmune diseases, can easily change a person’s whole life around.  It is easy to slip into a rut or a specific mindset that does not bear good fruit in our lives.  It can even make things worse without us realizing it.

A few months ago, while sitting in my living room, my eye caught the light switch plate near the front door.  light-switch-coversI was embarrassed by what I saw there.  Silver, decomposing duck tape covering one half of the plate.  That tape was put there quickly, years ago, for a very good purpose, but it had become extremely unsightly and I didn’t even see it any more.

I was struck by the notion that there are things in my life that others see, but I do not notice anymore.  Things changethat need to be changed or updated.  While the tape kept us from shutting off power to the top half of all our living room outlets, it definitely needed to be changed.

This proved to be no quick task.  First, I had to get the cover off the wall.  Then, it was a chore to scrape off the hardened tape.  I had to get the Goop out to remove all the hardened glue.  I had to  soak it, rub it, soak it, and rub it some more, until it eventually came clean.  Black electrical tape would have been an ideal replacement, but that day I had to settle for blue painter’s tape.

What is in your life that you do not notice anymore because of chronic illness?   I had to work on attitude, exercise and weight.  I tackled them one by one, in that order.  I put enough time between adding challenges so each would become habit, and build  on the other.  I wish I could say it is easy, but like getting that crusty old tape off the light switch cover, it is taking lots of elbow 2 changegrease.  Two years later, I do not know if others see the difference, but I do.  Best of all, I feel the difference.  Unlike the light switch cover, this is an ongoing process that I must stay on top of, or I could find myself  back where I started.

I encourage you to gather up the courage, look around your life, and see if there is something that needs to be updated or changed.  Maybe even ask a trusted friend or spouse for input.  The great news is, if I can do it , you can do it.  You won’t be disappointed, especially when you start feeling the results in your body.

Change_is_good_by_biswajittukaNext time, you will meet guest blogger Adam, diagnosed with lupus in 2006. You will get to read about the unique, huge challenge he undertook this year.

Until then….Many blessings, Leslie Rose K

If you do not want to miss a post please click here to Subscribe by Email

Romans 12:12  Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brenda on May 30, 2013 at 6:23 PM

    This was a good post Leslie! Great way to look at working at our bodies to keep them healthy! Which can be a struggle for us all. Looking forward to Adam’s guest spot next time!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Juju714 on May 30, 2013 at 8:38 PM

    Inspiring! I found myself wanting to hear what Adam had to say…while we learn to manage and do things in a new way..I find myself looking at longer term goals as a beast to be conquered..perhaps seeing how someone with more vital determination does it could help bring some of us out of the rut we can get into sometimes. TY 🙂 JJ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lupus, the Adventure Between the Lines

One Patient's Positive Perspectives

Ivory Spring

where treasures of past and present connect

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Dominate Your Diagnosis

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Friends Craftin' with Friends

Reclaim your life after a diagnosis of lupus/autoimmune disease

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

